Posts tagged acting
Legitimate Acting AGENCIES?
4Question by Confused: Legitimate Acting AGENCIES?
I’m 17 years old, a senior in high school and I know this sounds so cliche, but I would LOVE to become an Actress. I love movies and I love to act. I’m going to go to Columbia University when I graduate to pursue my career in screen writing. But what I’d really love to do is act. Any suggestions or references for legitimate acting agencies? I don’t want to get scammed so please don’t refer me to “John Casablancas”, “Barbizon” or “John Robert Powers”.
Best answer:
Answer by Maureen S
A “legitimate” Agency will not ask for a hefty fee up front. It will be a small fee with a percentage of every job they get you, going to that Agency.
Also beware of an AGency that want you to use their photographer for head shots. Find your own photographer, by thoroughly investigating, and they also will be reasonable in the amount they charge you.
You will have to have to have a head shot to enter any Agency door, so that should be the first thing you should do.
Thoroughly investigate every detail. This includes making sure there is a contract, with no hidden costs. If they do not ask for a contract, that spells trouble also.
Good luck.
Know better? Leave your own answer in the comments!
Has anyone ever heard of “John casablancas” modeling and acting studio?
1Question by c_lasser: Has anyone ever heard of “John casablancas” modeling and acting studio?
I am interested in acting, so I filled a form out, and john Casablanca’s called me the one based in Boston, MA. They have not seen a photo of me nor do I have a portfolio. They seem pretty interested in meeting me and I do not know if they are legitimate or not. Does anyone have an advice or know info about them??
Best answer:
Answer by Laurie
John Casablanca is a modeling and acting school. However, they also own Elite Models in NY.
Good luck!
Laurie
Entertainment Coach
www.steelemodelandtalent.com
Know better? Leave your own answer in the comments!


Recent Comments